2017 Webster Award

The inaugural Honorable William H. Webster Distinguished Service Award was presented to President George H.W. Bush at a ceremony at the Washington, DC, Ritz Carlton Hotel on November 29, 2017, before an audience of more than 400 guests. The event was attended by past and present leaders in the intelligence community, government, and the private sector. President Bush accepted the award from his home in Kennebunkport, Maine, alongside former First Lady Barbara Bush.

2017 Webster Distinguished Service Award Recipient

The Honorable George H.W. Bush
The Forty-First President of the United States

George Bush served as president from January 1989 until January 1993. During his term, the Cold War ended, the Soviet Union ceased to exist, the Berlin Wall fell and Germany was reunified, and he led a coalition of 32 nations to liberate Kuwait. President Bush signed into law the Americans with Disabilities Act and the Clean Air Act. He also negotiated the North American Free Trade Agreement, which was later signed into law. After leaving office, President Bush helped to raise hundreds of millions of dollars for charity. 

2017 Co-Chairs

General Michael V. Hayden, USAF (Ret.), The Chertoff Group
Gilman Louie, Alsop Louie Partners

We are deeply grateful to our sponsors for this event, including:

Royal Embassy of Saudi Arabia
Looking Glass Cyber
Milbank LLC
Somerset Investment Company, LLC

Wesley and Natalie Bush
Brent Scowcroft

Click here for a complete list of 2017 Webster Award Sponsors