Spy Museum Recognizes General Michael V. Hayden with Webster Award

WASHINGTON, DC (November 7, 2019) – More than 560 people attended the International Spy Museum’s (SPY) third annual Honorable William H. Webster Distinguished Service Award Dinner in celebration of former Director of the National Security Agency and Central Intelligence Agency General Michael V. Hayden (Ret.). The evening was emceed by CNN’s Lead Political Anchor and Anchor of “The Situation Room” Wolf Blitzer, and the keynote speech was given by former Director of Central Intelligence, the Honorable George J. Tenet. For the first time ever, the signature gala took place on site at the Museum, in its sleek, new building at L’Enfant Plaza.  

In addition to the highest ranking positions at CIA and NSA, General Hayden was the country’s first principal deputy director of national intelligence and the highest-ranking military intelligence officer.  He currently serves as a principal at the Chertoff Group, a security consultancy founded by former Homeland Security Secretary Michael Chertoff. Hayden is also a Distinguished Visiting Professor at George Mason University’s Schar School of Policy and Government and founded the Hayden Center for Intelligence, Policy, and International Security there. He is also an accomplished author, with New York Times bestseller Playing to the Edge as well as The Assault on Intelligence: American National Security in an Age of Lies.

“General Hayden has not only set an unflinching example of leadership and personal and professional integrity, he’s left an extraordinary and lasting positive impact on the U.S. Intelligence Community,” said Spy Museum Executive Director Col. Christopher P. Costa. “Like the International Spy Museum, he has taken up the vital role of intelligence ambassador, educating the public on some of the most pressing issues of our time.  And amidst the information overload, he serves as a trusted, measured voice.” 

(L-R) Former CIA Deputy Director and Acting Director Michael Morell, Founding Executive Director of SPY Peter Earnest, 2019 Webster Honoree and former Director of NSA and CIA General Michael Hayden, former DNI and DIA Director the Honorable James Clapper, former DCI the Honorable George J. Tenet, and SPY Executive Director Chris Costa gather at the Spy Museum’s third annual Honorable William H. Webster Distinguished Service Award Dinner. Photo by Imagelinkphoto.com.

Some of the VIPs in attendance included FBI Associate Deputy Director Paul Abbate; DIA Director Lieutenant General Robert P. Ashley, Jr.; NSA Executive Director Harry Coker, Jr.; NSA Deputy Director George Barnes; Former DNI and DIA Director The Honorable James Clapper; Former CIA Deputy Director and Acting Director Michael Morell; Former Principal Deputy Director of National Intelligence Sue Gordon; Former CIA Deputy Director David S. Cohen; Director of NCSC William R. Evanina; Congresswoman Abigail Spanberger; Ambassador Floreta Faber; Ambassador John Negroponte; INSA Chairman of the Board Letitia A. Long; Assistant Secretary of State for the Bureau of Intelligence and Research Ellen E. McCarthy; Director of the National Clandestine Service Greg Vogle; Admiral William H. McRaven; GSG9 Jerome Fuchs; among others.

Award Dinner co-chairs included Michael Morrell, former deputy director and acting director of the CIA and senior counselor of Beacon Global Strategies, and Jill Singer, Vice President of National Security, AT&T and Former Chief Information Officer, National Reconnaissance Office.  The Honorable and Mrs. William H. Webster, the namesake of the award, served as Honorary Committee co-chairs.  Katherine Wood chaired the Host Committee and John T. Avalos chaired the Corporate Committee.

Also present were Spy Museum President and COO Tamara Christian and Executive Director Chris Costa, Museum Founders Milton and Tamar Maltz, and Board of Directors Governor James Blanchard, Founding SPY Executive Director Peter Earnest, Tracy Iseler, Mary Kraft, The Honorable Mary Beth Long, Lisa G. Martin, Adrian Martinez, and H. Keith Melton.  Members of the Spy Museum Advisory Board also joined, including Alison Pentz Bouwmeester, Steven Cash, Rollie Flynn, Michael J. Lacombe, Melissa Boyle Mahle, Keith J. Masback, Jonna Mendez, Malcolm W. Nance, Robert Wallace, and Kristin Wood.

FedData sponsored the cocktail reception, Carahsoft sponsored the VIP reception, Jacobs sponsored the dessert reception, and AT&T sponsored the photo booth.  Handler sponsors include Cisco Systems, Fortress, George Mason University’s Schar School of Policy and Government, In-Q-Tel, Perspecta, and Spycraft Entertainment.

Funds raised at the Webster Dinner support artifact preservation, educational programming, research, exhibits, and accessibility programs for underserved communities. 

For additional photos from the event or general inquiries about the Museum, please contact Aliza Bran at 202.654.0946 or abran@spymuseum.org.




About the International Spy Museum

The International Spy Museum, an independent nonprofit organization, is the only public museum in the United States solely dedicated to the tradecraft, history, and contemporary role of espionage and intelligence. Open since July 2002, the Museum features the largest collection of international espionage artifacts ever placed on public display. The mission of the International Spy Museum is to educate the public about espionage and intelligence in an engaging way and to provide a context that fosters understanding of their important role and impact on current and historic events. The Museum's collection chronicles the history of espionage, from its inception, to the modern day challenges facing intelligence professionals worldwide in the 21st Century. In spring 2019, the International Spy Museum will open in a new, purpose-built facility in L’Enfant Plaza, Washington, DC. For more information, please visit spymuseum.org.



SPY is pleased to announce that the 2023 recipient of The Honorable William H. Webster Distinguished Service Award is The Honorable Leon E. Panetta, Former Secretary of Defense.
Learn More